article news
Thirty-one nations are planning to participate at the EUBC European Women’s Boxing Championships in Budva

The EUBC European Women’s Boxing Championships will take place in Montenegro’s port in Budva between October 11 and 23. The first competition day of the upcoming EUBC European Women’s Boxing Championships is October 14 while the finals scheduled to take place on October 22. The competition will return to the boxing agenda after three years of break with record number of boxers on the board.

The President of the Boxing Association of Montenegro Mr. Aleksandr Klemenko arranged several international events in the developing country and their boxers earned historic medals in the previous two years. Next to the Adriatic Pearl Youth Tournament, the small boxing town of Budva hosted the 2020 and the 2021 editions of the EUBC Youth European Boxing Championships.

The management of the European Boxing Confederation arranged the EUBC U22 European Boxing Championships in Porec, Croatia this March which was the first continental event of the year. The youth talents met in Sofia on April, the men’s elite in Yerevan on May, then the schoolboys and the schoolgirls in Erzurum on August. The last EUBC Championships was held for the junior boxers in Montesilvano, Italy in the previous days and Budva will close the year in 2022.

Following the official registration procedures, the European Boxing Confederation confirmed the participation of 164 boxers from 31 nations in the EUBC European Women’s Boxing Championships. Altogether 136 elite female boxers from 31 nations took part in the 2019 EUBC European Women’s Boxing Championships in Alcobendas therefore the new edition will be more crowded.

Boxers who were born between 1982 and 2003 are eligible to participate in the EUBC European Women’s Boxing Championships. The female boxers can compete in 12 weight categories from the minimumweight (48kg) up to the heavyweight (+81kg) in Budva.

Ukraine is planning to send maximum number of 12 boxers to the EUBC European Women’s Boxing Championships. Armenia, Finland, Ireland, and Serbia registered record number of boxers in the history of the competition. Four of the defending champions from Alcobendas such as Busenaz Cakiroglu of Turkey, Lacramioara Perijoc of Romania, Irma Testa of Italy and Aoife O’Rourke of Ireland will have the chance to earn their next gold medals.

The European continent impressed at the IBA Women’s World Boxing Championships in Istanbul, Turkey on May 2022 and among those winners six champions are planning to attend in Budva. Turkey’s four champions from Istanbul such as Ayse Cagirir, Busenaz Cakiroglu, Hatice Akbas, and Busenaz Surmeneli, Ireland’s Amy Broadhurst, and Lithuania’s Gabriele Stonkute have the strong mission to win their next titles in 2022.

Following the European Women’s Cups in 1999 and in 2000, the first edition of the European Women’s Boxing Championships took place in St. Amand-les-Eaux in France in 2001 where France’s Oria Mahmoud was the first historic gold medallist. Pecs, Riccione, Tonsberg, Warsaw, Vejle, Nikolayev, Rotterdam, Bucharest, Sofia twice and Alcobendas hosted the further editions between 2001 and 2019.

The schedule of the EUBC European Women’s Elite Boxing Championships

October 11-12 – Arrival of the delegations

October 12-13 – Sport Entries Check

October 13, 17:00 – Technical Meeting

October 13, 18:00 – Official Draw

October 14, 14:00 & 18:00 – Day1 competition

October 15, 14:00 & 18:00 – Day2 competition

October 16, 14:00 & 18:00 – Day3 competition

October 17, 14:00 & 18:00 – Day4 competition

October 18, 14:00 & 18:00 – Day5 competition

October 19, 14:00 & 18:00 – Day6 competition

October 20 – Rest Day

October 21, 14:00 & 18:00 – Day7 competition with the semi-finals

October 22, 14:00 & 18:00 – Day8 competition with the finals

October 23 – Departure of the delegations

The registered nations in the EUBC European Women’s Elite Boxing Championships

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Lithuania, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and Wales